Commando General

The Life of Major General Sir Robert Laycock KCMG CB DSO

Richard Mead

Date Published :
March 2017
Publisher :
Pen and Sword
Illustration :
16pp of B&W plates
Format Available    QuantityPrice
Binding. : Hardback
ISBN : 9781473854079
Pages : 256
Dimensions : 9.5 X 6.5 inches
Stock Status : In stock
Also available digitally:
Buy From Amazon Amazon
Buy From Apple Apple
Buy From Barnes and Noble Barnes & Noble
Buy From Google Google
Buy From Kobo Kobo

Casemate will earn a small commission if you make a purchase after clicking a link here


Always marked out for high rank, Robert Laycock came into his own when selected to raise 8 Commando, a new ‘crack’ unit early in the Second World War. After training, 7, 8 and 11 Commandos were sent to the Middle East in early 1941 and all became Layforce under Laycock’s command. Layforce was disbanded after Crete fell. Laycock took part in the abortive raid on Rommel’s HQ.

As commander of the Special Service Brigade Laycock played an important role in the Sicily landings and at Salerno. In October 1943 he succeeded Mountbatten as Chief of Combined Operations, coordinating combined services operations and training and attending Allied conferences.

In later life Laycock became Governor of Malta and Colonel of the SAS. In this long overdue biography, the author reveals the detail of this fine soldier’s character and superb military record.

About The Author

Richard Mead was educated at Marlborough College and Pembroke College, Cambridge. He has written 'General ‘Boy’: The Life of Lieutenant General Sir Frederick Browning' and 'The Last Great Cavalryman: The Life of General Sir Richard McCreery', 'Commander Eighty Army', 'The Men Behind Monty' and 'Commando General – The Life of Sir Robert Laycock', all in print with Pen and Sword Military.

Richard and his wife live in Gloucestershire and he has two grown-up sons.

More from this publisher