The Complete Knight's Cross

Volume 2 - The Years of Stalemate 1942-1943

Kevin Brazier

This series tells the story of all 7,364 men who were awarded the Knight's Cross including the disputed awards. This second volume deals with 1942-43 (numbers 1268-3685).
Date Published :
March 2022
Publisher :
Fonthill Media
Illustration :
Format Available    QuantityPrice
Binding. : Hardback
ISBN : 9781781557822
Pages : 626
Dimensions : 9.25 X 6.15 inches
Stock Status : In stock


The Knight's Cross of the Iron Cross, to give it its full name, owes its origins to the 'Pour le Merite' (Blue Max), an imperial award dating back to 1740. The Complete Knight's Cross volumes tell the story of all 7,364 men who were granted the award (including all the disputed awards). The three volumes have over 200 photos of holders of the medal and over 100 photos of their graves. Volume One deals with 1939-41 (numbers 1-1267) and is subtitled The Years of Victory. Volume Two deals with 1942-43 (numbers 1268-3685) and is subtitled The Years of Stalemate. Volume Three deals with 1944-45 (numbers 3686-7364) and is subtitled The Years of Defeat. The recipients are listed in the order of the date of award. Each entry starts with the recipient's rank and name, followed by details of the action or actions for which they were granted the award. Other interesting facts and stories are also included for many of the awards. Burial locations, where known, are also given. Any higher awards (Oak Leaves, Swords, Diamonds and the ultimate Golden award) are also covered.

About The Author

Kevin Brazier has investigated the lives, careers and military exploits of all 1358 VC holders in order to compile this unique book. He has long been intrigued by medals and medal recipients, in particular by the VC, Britain’s highest award for gallantry. His other books include The Complete George Cross and The Complete Blue Max.


A Short History of the Medal
1. 1942
2. 1943
Index of Knight’s Cross Holders (1942-43)

More from this publisher