The Invasion of Canada

Battles of the War of 1812

Ronald Dale, Ronald J. Dale

This popular history of the War of 1812 is generously illustrated with archival images as well as with colour photography taken at historical sites fromthe war.
Date Published :
April 2011
Publisher :
Illustration :
More than 100 historical images and maps
Format Available    QuantityPrice
Binding. : Paperback
ISBN : 9781552777848
Pages : 96
Dimensions : 9.13 X 8.25 inches
Stock Status : In stock


On June 18, 1812, the United States declared war on Great Britain--the most powerful nation in the world. Britain was in the midst of a long and perilous struggle with Napoleon's France, convincing President Thomas Jefferson that taking Canada would be "a mere matter of marching."

Jefferson was terribly wrong. In this book Ron Dale traces the course of this gruelling two-year conflict, bringing to life people and engagements that have become legendary in Canada: General Brock's stand at Queenston Heights, Tecumseh's death at Moraviantown, Laura Secord's epic trek through the woods. He also recovers some equally important, but more obscure results of the conflict, including how the Bank of Nova Scotia was created with privateering prizes from the war.

Illustrated throughout with full-colour paintings and modern photography, The Invasion of Canada is a readable, appealing guide to a war that both sides won.

About The Author

RONALD J. DALE is a historian and the Superintendent of Niagara National Historic Sites, including Fort George and Brock's Monument. He is the author of Niagara-on-the-Lake: Its Heritage and Its Festival, The Invasion of Canada: Battles of the War of 1812, and The Fall of New France: How the French lost a North American empire 1754-1763.



Photo Credits




Chapter 1: Prelude to War: Aftermath of the American Revolution

Chapter 2: The Capture of Detroit

Chapter 3: The Battle of Queenston Heights

Chapter 4: The American Capture of York and Niagara

Chapter 5: Montreal Saved: The Battles of Chateauguay and Crysler's Farm

Chapter 6: Hearts of Oak: The War at Sea

Chapter 7: The Final Invasions: The Summer of 1814


Historical Documents

Recommended Reading

Associated Sites


More from this publisher